Step 2: Apply for Your Florida Real Estate License
A sales associate must also be licensed by the Department of Business and Professional Regulation (DBPR), in order to carry out real estate services. Any services that are performed by the sales associate, must be under the guidance and employ of a licensed real estate broker. Applications for real estate licenses must be made to the Department of Business and Professional Regulation.
You don’t have to complete your Florida pre licensing course for sales associate in order to submit your application. The DBPR takes around one month to process your application, so it is best to submit a completed application while you are progressing through your Florida pre licensing course. This means you do not have to wait in order to schedule your state exam.
NOTE: You will be required your Florida real estate license application approval ID number before you can schedule your state exam.
Can you do your Florida real estate license application online?
There are two ways to submit your application, either online, or by mail:
Florida Sales Associate License
- Submit your application online SALES ASSOCIATE INITIAL APPLICATION (RE 1)
- Submit an application by mail –PDF SALES ASSOCIATE INITIAL APPLICATION (RE 1)
- Remember to include payment of the application fee – $83.75, and any supporting documents.
What are the requirements to get a Florida real estate license?
- You have to be at least 18 years of age
- You must have a high school diploma, a general education diploma (GED) or a higher education diploma. Most likely you will not have to show your diploma. You will be asked this question in the state application. You will need to answer yes if you do have that.
- You must have a social security number
- You must submit your state application to obtain a Florida Real Estate License
- You need to complete an approved 63 Hour Florida pre licensing course for sales associate.
- You must pass the Florida pre-licensing course exam
- You must schedule and pass the Florida Real Estate Sales Associate State Exam
Do you have to be a resident of Florida to get a real estate license?
Applicants wishing to get a Florida real estate license are not required to be a resident of Florida.
Does Florida have real estate license reciprocity?
Florida has mutual recognition with 8 states. Alabama, Arkansas, Connecticut, Georgia, Illinois, Mississippi, Nebraska and Rhode Island. If you are in a state in which Florida has a Mutual Recognition Agreement with, you may apply for a Florida sales associate license, or a broker license under mutual recognition.
To qualify for mutual recognition, applicants;
Must be 18 years of age and hold a high school diploma or its equivalent.
The applicant must not be a resident of Florida, at the time of the application.
If you are in a state in which Florida has a Mutual Recognition Agreement with, you may apply for a Florida sales associate license, or a broker license under mutual recognition. If you reside in one of these states, you are required to take the Florida Core Law Exam at a Pearson Vue testing center. Currently, MLS Campus does not offer a Core Law Prep Course. Please follow the link to learn more about Mutual Recognition.
Can I Become a Florida Real Estate Broker If I Have Two Years’ Experience as a Sales Associate or a Broker License in Another State?
If you are not in a state that has mutual recognition with Florida you can either apply for your real estate sales associate license, and take the 63 Hour Florida pre-licensing course for sales associate, or you can use your two years’ experience, within the past five years, in your current state as a sales associate, or if you have a broker license, to apply for a broker’s license in Florida; however, this would not be a mutual recognition application. You would be required to take the 72 Hour Florida broker pre-license course and the full 100 question state exam. Please follow the link for more information on our 72 Hour Florida Broker Pre License Course.